The Naming of Chapter XV, The Alamo Chapter

SFA Chapter XV was named for the Alamo because the chapter’s founders felt the San Antonio shrine symbolized “many of the traits of the Green Berets.” The founding group in 1976 also decided to have the name represent MSG Gabriel Alamo, a Green Beret from New Jersey who was killed in action in Vietnam. Alamo was a veteran of World War II and Korea by the time of the fatal firefight at Nam Dong in 1964. His A-team, commanded by Cpt. Roger H.C. Donlon, became one of the most decorated in Army history. The battle at Nam Dong resulted in the Medal of Honor for Donlon, the Distinguished Service Cross (awarded posthumously) to Alamo and another team member, plus four Silver Stars and five Bronze Stars with “V” for valor to other members of the team.


Current Chapter President: Juan “John” Lopez President 2020 – Present


  • James C. “Jack” Williams – 1975-1977 (1975 Provisional Period – Chapter Chartered in 1977)
  • Inactive – 1980
  • Edward K. Miller – 1981*
  • David L. Hughes – 1982
  • Domingo P. Campos 1983 -1984*
  • Eldon A. “Buddy” Gee 1985 – 1986
  • William P. “Bill” Martin 1986 – 1987
  • Ronald W. “Ron” Burkett 1988 -1991
  • Charles “Charlie” Hoffman 1992 – 1998
  • William P. “Bill” Martin 1999
  • Vincent J. F. Skeeba 2000*
  • Armando “Mando” Canales 2001 – 2012*
  • William S. “Bill” Beall Jr. 2012
  • Charles H “Chuck” Rose 2012-2014
  • William E. “Bill” Smith 2015-2019
Scroll to Top